North Carolina Mandatory Car Insurance Requirements:
The North Carolina Financial Responsibility Laws require that Automobile Liability coverage be maintained.
The minimum coverage requirements are $30,000 Bodily Injury for each person, $60,000 total Bodily Injury for all persons in an accident and $25,000 for Property Damage.
North Carolina Motor Vehicle General Statute 20-279.21(b)(3) and (b)(4) requires that all licensed drivers carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage on their motor vehicle insurance policies.
Under this requirement, your policy’s UM/UIM coverage limits must at least equal the highest bodily injury liability limit on any one motor vehicle insured under the policy.
Motor vehicle insurance policies sold or renewed in North Carolina on or
after January 1, 2009 must meet this requirement.
The address for the North Carolina Department of Insurance Consumer Services Division is:
Consumer Services Division
North Carolina Department of Insurance
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699