Georgia Car Insurance Requirements:
Georgia state law requires you to carry minimum Bodily Injury Liability limits of $25,000 per injured person up to a total of $50,000 per accident, and Property Damage Liability coverage with a minimum limit of $25,000. This basic coverage is often referred to as 25/50/25 coverage.
Georgia Insurance Coverage:
Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000/$50,000 Limit
Property Damage Liability: $25,000 Limit
*New Uninsured Motorist coverage option effective: January 1, 2009
The state of Georgia uses a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages. You should be aware that the details of a tort system vary from state to state.
You can get Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury coverage to cover bodily injury caused by an uninsured and/or underinsured driver (depending on the state). Georgia does not require drivers to purchase this coverage, but you should consider purchasing this important coverage.
Your vehicle registration could be suspended if your insurance policy lapses or is cancelled. The state defines the word "lapse" as 10 or more days without continuous coverage.
Penalties: If your coverage lapses, you will be fined a $25 lapse fee and a $60 reinstatement fee before you can renew your license plates. It is a misdemeanor to drive a vehicle with a suspended registration, you could face additional penalties, fines, or even impoundment if you are stopped by law enforcement without insurance coverage.
For second- and third-time insurance offenders, the penalties and fees increase. By the third offense, you will pay a $25 lapse fee and a $160 reinstatement fee, and your vehicle's registration will be suspended for six months. If you are convicted of driving the car during this time, even harsher penalties will apply.
Georgia will penalize you if your coverage lapses: A lapse in Georgia is only 10 days, so make sure to keep your policies current and notify the state if you change insurance carriers. In the case of lapse of coverage, you will be fined $25, plus a $60 reinstatement fee to make your registration valid. If you fail to rectify the situation and you drive with a suspended registration, you're committing a misdemeanor and could face additional fines and impoundment. Second and third offenses face tougher penalties.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $1000 and jail term up to one year